Time Lords, Superheroes, and Brave New Worlds

A blog for all things sci-fi and superheroic

A Thought on Mad Max: Fury Road

Leave a comment

I went to see Mad Max: Fury Road a while ago and have since been trying to figure out what to write about the film and the interesting conversation about women and action films that arose after its release. Honestly, I was incredibly fascinated by the many comments and reactions to Fury Road, and (obviously, if you’re a frequent visitor to this blog) I wasn’t on the side of those complaining that women had “taken over” a “man’s” film. But, I didn’t really have any specific comments I urgently wanted to add to the discussion going on about this film at the time I went to see it.

Then I recently found this Buzzfeed piece, which I think sums up excellently both the conversation around Fury Road and my own thoughts: “Tom Hardy Has The Perfect Reaction When Asked If Mad Max Should Be A ‘Man’s Movie'”.

I kind of fell in love with Mad Max: Fury Road. In terms of intensity, it’s up there with Dredd (2012) – I’d call Mad Max the more intense of the two, in fact, due to its frantic pacing – while Dredd still takes the title for goriest superhero-action-dystopia film of the 21st century. Basically, Fury Road is one wild ride through the desert, so if you’re looking for a quiet evening in…well, better pick something else. You’ll never have more fun than this, though, if you’re in the mood for it.

And do I think that Mad Max: Fury Road qualifies as a “feminist” film? Oh yes.

Since when were the terms “feminist,” “female-oriented,” and “action movie” supposed to be exclusive?

Posting update: I promise that the Daredevil and Magical Theory: Time Travel posts will in fact be available in the near future. The Magical Theory resources page is still being compiled and will also be available soon.

Author: wuscifi2014

Sci-fi enthusiasts from Willamette University

We welcome your thoughts! Please leave us a message.